Our Team

The team behind Friends of Medicare work hard to deliver the best. A combination of a core staff, dedicated Board, as well as crucial volunteers, donors, and community keep this work moving.

Want to get involved? Show your support by taking action now or get in touch with us today.



Our staff is small but mighty. Meet the faces behind the work we do.

Chris Gallaway

Executive Director
[email protected]

Chris Gallaway (he/him) is an experienced community organizer and advocate for public health care. Born and raised on a farm in rural Saskatchewan, he has since spent most of his adult life living on Treaty 6 territory, first in Saskatoon, and for the last decade living here in Edmonton. His past experience includes working for the Alberta Federation of Labour, in three provincial legislative assemblies, and for a variety of non-profit and community organizations. Outside of work Chris is an active volunteer and community member engaged in social justice and the arts.


Alyssa Pretty

Communications and Administration
[email protected]

Alyssa Pretty (she/they) has been the Communications and Administrative Officer at Friends of Medicare since 2018. They hold a BA in Women's and Gender Studies, and her past experience has concentrated on feminist and community activism. Alyssa was born and raised in Edmonton, and is passionate about community building and fighting for a just and equitable future for all.




Friends of Medicare is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of both elected and appointed members. Up to fifteen members may be elected by the membership, of which a maximum seven can be organizations. Each chapter is also able to appoint one representative to the Board of Directors.


Karen Kuprys
Alberta Federation of Labour
Leanne Alfaro
Vice Chair
Health Sciences Association of Alberta
Judy Lederer
Wing Li


Sandra Azocar
Alberta Union of Provincial Employees
Harold Pliszka
Social Workers' Association of Alberta
Heather Smith
United Nurses of Alberta
Raj Uppal
Canadian Union of Provincial Employees


Kristine Wilkinson
Alberta Teachers Association
Margaret Brown
Greg Mady
Deanna Ogle


Farris Sobhani
Janice Willier
Eyasu Yakob
Cam Heenan
Chapter Chair
Calgary Chapter


Bev Muendel-Atherstone
Chapter Chair
Lethbridge Chapter
Diane MacNaughton
Chapter Chair
Palliser Chapter