Staff & Board of Directors


Executive Director Sandra Azocar

Sandra Azocar

Executive Director

Sandra Azocar has been an advocate for a fair and equal society for more than 30 years in Alberta. Her past experience includes working as a child protection worker, and volunteer work within the Chilean community as well as the labour movement. She has served in many positions in the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE) including Vice-President from 2007-2012. Sandra had also served on the Board of Directors of Friends of Medicare for 6 years prior to becoming the Executive Director in 2012.


Alyssa Pretty

Communications and Administration


Board of Directors

Friends of Medicare is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of both elected and appointed members. Up to fifteen members may be elected by the membership, of which a maximum seven can be organizations. Each chapter is also able to appoint one representative to the Board of Directors.

TrudyThomson.JPG barretweber.jpg KarenWerlin.jpg
Trudy Thomson Barret Weber Karen Werlin Judy Lederer
Board Chair Vice Chair Treasurer Secretary
Health Sciences Association of Alberta       
margaretbrown.jpg GilMcGowan.jpg Shelley_Magnusson.jpg bonniegostola.jpg
Marg Brown Gil McGowan Jonathan Teghtmeyer Bonnie Gostola
Director Director Director Director
Alberta College of Social Workers  Alberta Federation of Labour  Alberta Teachers Association  Alberta Union of Provincial Employees 
placeholder.jpg heathersmith.jpg michaelcormican.jpg avirltorrence.JPG
Nick Jurich Heather Smith Michael Cormcian Avril Torrence
Director Director Director Director
Seniors' Action and Liason Team  United Nurses of Alberta  Lethbridge Chapter Chair   Palliser Chapter Chair 
JasonRockwell.jpg alexshevalier.jpg
Linda Cook  Greg Mady Jason Rockwell Alex Shevalier 
Director Director  Director Director
Trevor Zimmerman